Killer of Eagles

Killer of Eagles

The Ardis Cole Series (Book 6)

by Vickie Britton and Loretta Jackson


“… superbly crafted and entertaining mystery adventure …”

— Midwest Book Review


Ardis Cole braves a sudden blizzard on her way to the isolated Pine Ridge Sioux Reservation to help her friend, Ella White Owl, locate her missing niece. Carrie, an art teacher at Shadow Pass High School, appears to have simply vanished without a trace. Medicine man Jim Walks Alone shares with Ardis his disturbing vision about a “killer of eagles,” which to the Sioux represents an evil person, and a destroyer of all that is good.

Ardis soon finds the girl’s wrecked car deep in the canyon, a dead man who was shot through the head was behind the wheel. But there is no sign of Carrie. Ardis’ search for Carrie leads her on a hunt for a rare relic stolen from the local church, a wild chase through the badlands, and a face-to-face confrontation with the “killer of eagles.”


Mystery writers and sisters, Vickie Britton and Loretta Jackson, are back! Co-authors of more than 40 mysteries, suspense, and western novels, plus numerous short stories, and the adventure continues in this sixth edition of The Ardis Cole Series, Killer of Eagles. Good clean reading for all!


Midwest Book Review—Loretta Jackson and Vickie Britton have effectively collaborated to present a series of superbly crafted and entertaining mystery adventures featuring Ardis Cole, an intelligent, fearless, and perservering young lady who finds herself in the midst of exciting and suspenseful mysteries set in a variety of different locales.

[Praise for Book 3] A&RBC Reviews, Teresa Beasley—Ardis Cole is back … [she] is hit with many obstacles from members being attacked, murder and surprising twists. The more Ardis digs for answers the more secrets she reveals related to the Han Dynasty tomb. Ardis’ trip to China turns out to be more than she bargained for. Readers will be in for a shock when Ardis pulls all the clues together. The Crimson Masquerade is about betrayal, secrets and greed. This book had a shocking ending which had me guessing until the end. The main character is consistent with the previous books in this series and the supporting characters were unique. I recommend The Crimson Masquerade to others.

[Praise for Book 1] Mystery Scene Magazine—Nice thrills and chills. The authors have obviously done their archeological homework, and in between all the mysterious goings-on, we learn fascinating details of Hatshepsut’s stormy reign. The Egyptology is all there, and it’s enjoyable.


Killer of a Story! – When archaeologist Ardis Cole leaves Chicago for South Dakota to search for friend Ella White Owl’s niece Carrie, she never expects to wind up with her car broken down in a blizzard. Kade Swift Thunder rescues her and gets her safely to the Indian reservation school at Shadow Pass. But could the attractive Kade Swift Thunder who wears scars of his own personal wars have turned her heart so quickly from the man she left behind in Chicago? And could Kade be the reason Carrie is missing? They had dated until recently when some secret admirer had stolen Carrie’s heart. Ardis learns about Dead Man’s Canyon bandit Jess Garlock, “a very bad man, a killer of eagles,” who was buried with a noose still around his neck. Legend claims that his treasure is hidden in a secret cave. Carrie and Dr. Doran Jantz were researching Garlock and his treasure. Now they are both missing, along with a valuable painting from Shadow Valley High, and a cross from Father LaRue’s church. Not even the brutal winter landscape compares to the danger Ardis faces as she attempts to solve the mystery of Carrie’s disappearance. When Dr. Doran Jantz is found shot to death in his snow-encrusted car, Ardis finds it difficult to trust Tribal Police Chief Albon Barlowe after he steals and conceals evidence from the crime scene. Who can she trust? School principal Ben Buffalo Robe resents her interference. Is his friendship with Rosie, who runs a store that could front stolen goods, an indication that they are involved in local, unsolved thefts? She has no reason to distrust teacher Tyler Simms, but every reason to distrust Kade’s nephew Ronnie Swift Thunder who has forged a friendship with Tyler. And has Kade really changed, or is he the same violent man whose past includes a nearly fatal knife fight? Following the cold trail of Carrie’s disappearance, Ardis rescues Sioux medicine man and spiritual leader Jim Walks Alone and his dog. Jim has been shot and may not survive. Ardis barely manages to get Jim and his dog into her car before outrunning a barrage of bullets. Ardis has rescued Jim Walks Alone, but…where is Carrie? Is she alive or dead? And do the visions Jim Walks Alone had portend not only Carrie’s death, but also her own? The characters in this book are so real and alive that they step out of the pages and befriend the reader even after the last page. – SPM

Good story – Magnificent as usual. Every time I read one of Vickie and Loretta’s books I find it more exciting than the last one. I hope they continue writing. – BG

Killer of Eagles

Killer of Eagles

Select Add to Cart. If ordering more than one, adjust the quantity in VIEW CART or CHECKOUT.

Price: $14.95


View CartCheckout

This book is also available through bookstores in print and ebook: Amazon | ebook | B&N

Vickie Britton

Vickie Britton

Loretta Jackson

Loretta Jackson

Vickie Britton and Loretta Jackson are not only experts in researching the setting for their novels; they also travel to the location to get a sense of the local scenery and to learn more about the culture. Britton holds a degree in British Literature and has taken courses in forensics and criminal justice. Jackson, a graduate of K.U., has taught English and Creative Writing at the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation in South Dakota and at Mission Valley near Eskridge, Kansas. Both authors reside in Kansas.

Britton and Jackson are available for book signings and book club discussions.

Website on Facebook:

ISBN: 978-1-939054-57-9

Softcover: Perfect bind

Trim Size: 5.5″ x 8.5″

Pages: 248